Still Life With Wooden Spoon


The Schlep to Shongweni
August 24, 2010, 9:00 am
Filed under: Musing

I’ve heard rumours of the amazingness of the Shongweni Farmers’ Market for ages. The catch is, however, that it is miles from my house. Considering that all the stallholders start packing up at 10:30, this would mean me getting up obscenely early (by Saturday standards) to make it there in time. Finally though, this weekend I was invited up by the Avant Gardener, and decided to brave the journey into the hinterland, lured by promises of foodie goodness.

Now, I have always been a bit miffed by the dearth of decent food markets in Durban. I tend to go a touch market-manic whenever I visit Cape Town to make up for it – the day I discovered the Old Biscuit Mill was the closest I’ve ever been to epiphany in my life. I would have to say though, after finally experiencing this market, that it ranks up there with any other I’ve been to.

Now, you shouldn’t expect anything even remotely fancy here. Unlike at the Biscuit Mill, I only saw a small clutch of hipsters – wayfarers and checked shirts guarding against the onslaught of normals. The lack of pretention is refreshing though, and the focus is firmly on the food. My lingering hangover was sent on its way after about the fifth stall – and fifth set of tasters – and after some initial restraint, the wallet came out and some purchases were made.

So, after a morning braving the dust and crowds I returned home bearing a packet of superlative coppa ham, a charming brown sourdough loaf, and some rather delicious blue cheese. Check my post over at The Socialite to see what became of it all. There will definitely be a repeat visit to this rather marvellous market.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

what did the coppa ham taste like?

😛

Comment by Smile

It was – I’m ashamed to say – delicious… I promise I’ll keep you some next time…

Comment by chrisreidesq




Leave a Reply

