Still Life With Wooden Spoon


Leisurely Weekend Oats
August 16, 2010, 8:12 am
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: ,

I used to think that oats were the singularly most dismal food known to man. In my opinion, they looked like despair, tasted grey, and generally left one picking husks out of one’s teeth all day. My mother is a firm believer in their virtue, however, and was on my case for ages to give them a try. With her coaxing, a touch of honey and some raisins I can now just about bear them as a breakfast, but when the weekend rolls around, I believe you can tart them up sufficiently to actually make them something you would *want* to eat. And I do so as follows:

With the oats put on to boil with some water and a pinch of salt, I throw in some raisins and nuts (in this case sunflower seeds took the latter’s place). Then I grate two apples, skin and all, and throw them into the mix. Finally, a pinch or two of cinnamon, and a decent swirl of honey are introduced into the pot to finish it all off.

Not the most complicated of recipes, but it’s rather tasty. The leisurely preparation also allows for some Sunday morning conversation while the pot bubbles away to itself. And so, with a cup of decent coffee (organic, or course), and taken on a sunlit balcony, these are oats done right.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i like to add dates and bananas to my porridge, they both tend to “melt” in the porridge and make it less bland (and a spoonful of honey and a bit of butter also help)

Comment by brendan

Also a recent convert to oats – I always perceived it to be slimy!

This looks great and so easy that it will even work on weekdays too.

If you’re looking for more oats ideas for weekends, I did a post on baked oats recently which crisps up beautifully in the oven. Definitely something to try.

Comment by Marisa

@Brendan – I hear you on the bananas – I have to add something to oats to take that strange, almost plasticky texture away, otherwise they set my teeth on edge in a big way.

@Marisa – your baked oats are definitely going to make an appearance in my house soon – I can’t think of anything better than crunchies for breakfast (no matter how virtuous…).

Comment by chrisreidesq




Leave a Reply

