Still Life With Wooden Spoon


Flourless Chocolate Cake
August 10, 2010, 10:38 am
Filed under: Dinner | Tags: , , ,

So, with a casual, Monday night dinner on the cards, and some people coming over, a pudding was required. Now, I’m a huge believer in the zen of the pre-dinner prep, and am quite happy to start cooking at lunch time, if it means I can spend more time actually enjoying the company (and food) later. Being one of the most disorganised people on the planet doesn’t help my case here much, but I believe that intentions of organisation are better than a lack of planning altogether.

This all being the case, I have plumbed the depths of various time-tolerant chocolate-y desserts, and always come back to this one. The classic flourless chocolate cake. When done well it exhibits the perfect combination of dense sweetness and a bitter, almost fruity cocoa-ness. Because someone else was paying for the ingredients, I splurged out on Lindt chocolate too – much indulgence.

I’ve done versions of this cake with ground nuts, or cocoa, replacing the flour, but this is a purist version: chocolate, eggs, sugar, butter, and nothing more. Well, I say nothing more, but I felt like adding some coarsely chopped hazelnuts for the hell of it. They are, I feel, strictly optional. I know I don’t usually put strict recipes up, but for baking it is somewhat different, and for anyone who wants to replicate this, here it is:

300g dark chocolate
85g butter
2 tsp vanilla extract/essence
5 large eggs, room temperature
1 c sugar

Preheat your oven to just under 180ºC, and prepare (butter and flour) a springform pan with a circle of greaseproof on the base. Then chop and melt together the chocolate and butter – I am a recent convert to doing this in the microwave (shock horror), but what the hell, it really is the easiest way. Add the vanilla and let it cool.

In another bowl combine the eggs and sugar and beat until it triples in volume. Pour in the cooled chocolate mixture and fold together. You can also add the nuts now if you’re so inclined. Pour into the pan and bake until it forms a crust on top and a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean-ish, but with some squidge attached. It takes about 20 minutes for me, but just keep an eye on yours – all ovens are slightly different.

And there you have it. Once cooled, the top will collapse somewhat, but such is the aesthetic of this cake. Dust with cocoa powder or icing sugar to prettify it somewhat – I also added some crushed meringues to the top of mine, but only because they were forthcoming. This being done, serve with thick cream and enjoy. Delicious.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just have one question about this flourless chocolate cake: did you purposefully make it when you knew I was in Cape Town and out of reach? Seems a little unkind, don’t you think? 😉

Comment by Bridget McNulty

“Some people”… Bah humbug. Matt gets a picture and all I am is one of some people. Yummy cake though.

Comment by Brother_Tim

@Bridget – I was under strict orders from parents when cooking this. Duress even. Plus, I’ve promised you fondants now, which will be even better.

@Tim – I was trying to get Matt on the blog so he’d tell his friends and I’d appeal more to the adolescent male demographic. It’s all part of my social media strategy.

Comment by chrisreidesq




Leave a Reply

